Exhibition

The Exhibition is Now Open!Drawing In The Archive poster

Drawing in the Archive: Norwich’s Medieval Churches 1700 – 2017

Based on new research, this exhibition explores the rich visual record of Norwich’s medieval parish churches.  Since 1700, artists, antiquarians and archaeologists have drawn the City’s churches in diverse ways.  The remarkable archive that they have left reveals information about the churches that would otherwise be lost and encourages us to look again, and look differently, at these familiar landmarks.

Monday 21 August – Friday 17 November 2017

Admission Free

The Archive Centre, Martineau Lane, Norwich NR1 2DQ | Tel 01603 222599

Opening hours: Mon/Weds/Fri 9-5 | Tues 9.30 – 5 | Thurs 9-7

To find out more about the exhibition and associated events take a look at The Archive Centre’s What’s On Guide

Events for Adults

Mon 18 September 2-4pm

Archive Ambulation, a two-mile walk round some of the city’s churches with documents

Thurs 19 October 5.15 – 6.45pm

Thursday Taster, An Exhibition Unpacked: Curating, Conserving and Engaging

Lunchtime Talks

Weds 23 August 1-2pm

The Screen Painting from St Gregory, Norwich: the Earliest of its Kind in Norfolk? and The Re-Fenestration of St Giles by Sandy Heslop and Helen Lunnon

Fri 29 September 1-2pm

Norwich Churches and World War Two by Frank Meeres

Tues 12 October 1-2pm

Understanding Medieval Churches: Insights from a Craft Guild by Dr Stephen L’Normand and Colin Howey

Mon 13 November 1-2pm

Standing Room Only? Finding the Other Churches of Medieval Norwich and John Sell Cotman’s Medieval Norwich by Brian Ayers and Clare Haynes

 

Events for children and young people

Fri 1 September 2-3.30pm

Virtual Reality, for Real…? for 11-18 year olds

 

Half Term School Holiday Fun and Crafts

Mon 23 October 2-3.30pm

Norwich Skyline

Tues 24th October 2-3.30pm

Perfect Painted Panes